Falling Behind: Movie Edition

Something that I vaguely knew before I had a child was that once I did have a child, I wouldn’t be able to keep up with things as well anymore: housework, running, Facebook, reading … and movies.

Since I work at a public library, I’m constantly noticing materials of all kinds that I want to check out. Here’s a list of recent movies I’ve wanted to watch and either checked out and then had to return, or that I didn’t even check out; I just cancelled my hold and moved it on to the next person.

Maybe I’ll catch up on all these Oscar-nominated films in time for the next Oscars season …

Dallas Buyers Club – I’ve heard this is fantastic. I checked it out, didn’t get it watched, and then put myself back on the request list for both the blu-ray and DVD, to see which one comes in first. There are 10 people in front of me … on both.

Blue Jasmine – Mixed reviews on this one. I’m not a Woody Allen fan, but I don’t actively avoid him either. Cate Blanchett is always impressive though, so eventually I’ll grab this one again.

Labor Day – Another film with mixed reviews. The synopsis sounds ridiculous (and no, I haven’t read the book yet – just one other area where I’m falling behind and taking shortcuts) – a fugitive takes a single mother and her child hostage, but then ends up playing daddy and getting romantic? We’ll see.

And, just to show there’s some movie watching getting done around here, a list of movies I have watched recently:

Twelve Years a Slave – Wow. Pretty intense. I want to learn more about the story because it seems like those kidnappers went to a lot of trouble to just send someone south and get paid a little for it. Of course, all the actors did a fantastic job in this, even though Brad Pitt seemed a little conspicuous. But let’s face it – Brad Pitt is always conspicuous.

Gravity – Ok, another one that had me on the edge of my seat. It ended up being more existential than I thought, and I had no confidence that this movie could end well. I mean, you’re floating around untethered in space. Is there any way it could have a happy ending? Well, I won’t spoil it if you’re even further behind than I am, but be aware that there are some heart-wrenching moments here.

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug – I’m still trying to figure out who thought it was a good idea to stretch a 200-page book into three really long movies. Probably a lot of people think it’s a good idea, but I don’t. This film is somewhat of an improvement over the first one, but dang, I get bored even with action scenes when they are just so stinking extensive. I love the actors, I enjoy the general plot, but this took me two nights to watch and on one of those nights I could have been watching Dallas Buyers Club.

What movies have you been dying to catch up on? Let me know if they’re worth staying up past my bedtime.

Leave a Reply

