Best Books in 2012

All right, so I read a lot in 2012. Like 100 books a lot. That’s what happens when you have a baby and spend 3 weeks in the hospital with nowhere to really go — you read the entire Song of Ice and Fire series, because what the heck else are you going to do.

Recent Reads Blog Banner

Speaking of, I enjoyed that series, but I didn’t rank any of the books higher than a 4. Respectable, but here’s a list of those books that received a coveted 5-star rating from yours truly.

  1. The Phantom Tollbooth: Re-read! I felt the need to brush up on some of my childhood/teen favorites now that I’ve got a kiddo of my own — as if I needed an excuse to re-read this crazy word-and-numbers conglomeration. I have to admit that I am pretty tempted to get tattoos of Rhyme and Reason.
  2. A Moveable Feast: Hemingway has that way of writing that is so straightforward that it seems like something I should be able to do, but no matter how hard I try I can’t match it. Plus, this book is about Paris, which is always a plus.
  3. The No S Diet: This is the one and only diet that has actually helped me lose weight. This is another re-read, since after having a baby I kept eating like I was still pregnant. The best part about this book is that the diet that it outlines is hardly even a diet.
  4. The Knife of Never Letting Go: This book aimed at young adults is just incredible. Even with the touch of science fiction, it seems so amazingly real and it completely drew me in. I had to read through tears because I just couldn’t put it down.
  5. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks: As you read this book, you might think that there must be some science fiction involved, between using cells without a person’s consent and keeping cells alive some 60 years after the person’s death. Nope. It’s a mix of awe-inspiring and horrifying, but it’s all real.
  6. Battle Royale: I’m a sucker for a good dystopian novel, and after reading The Hunger Games (you may have heard of it) in 2011, I guess I felt the urge to keep reading about kids being forced to kill each other.
  7. Bringing Up Bebe: And finally, this book about the difference between French and American parenting styles was a very interesting read. I’m curious to see which aspects I borrow as I find my own parenting style over the years.

If you want to take a look at any of the 90-odd also-rans, click over to GoodReads.

One response to “Best Books in 2012

  1. Pingback: Project Life – Week 3 | marleah

Leave a Reply

