Chore wars!

Do you ever need to get motivated to do cleaning around the house? What about your other family members? And is one of those family members an avid gamer?

If you answered YES to any of those questions, Chore Wars might be for you! Chore Wars is a site that allows you to create a character and then complete “adventures” — actually real-life housekeeping tasks. So when you, say, make the bed, just log on and claim that adventure. You gain experience points, and you may get special (virtual) items on your quest.

When I first saw this site, I thought it was hilarious. Then I realized it might be just the thing to appeal to my Dungeons & Dragons-playing husband. We both tend to fall into the bad habit of noticing what HASN’T been done around the house, instead of noticing all of the things that actually have been done. That leads to frustration for both of us. This website, while it seems a little silly, is a great way to mark down what you HAVE done around the house and gives you a sense of accomplishment when you have to fight off a zombie, like I did the other day while I was paying bills. Don’t worry, I won.

What do you do to keep things fair around the house?

4 responses to “Chore wars!

  1. As the “Dungeons & Dragons-playing husband”, I have been having a blast. In keeping track of what has been done, I have also found it motivational to advance my character by doing the tasks. Today I am actually dissappointed I didn’t complete any tasks instead of feeling bad. That might seem like a minor difference, but I do think it is a good one.

  2. Ha! That’s hilarious – never heard of it. We could probably use something like this in our lives…. I would kick Luke’s butt in this game though. Maybe that would make me feel better 🙂

    • It really is pretty funny. I’m a big fan of “whatever works”. And maybe you could add some nice craftsman tasks for Luke!

Leave a Reply

