Welcome to 2012!

I didn’t do much to ring in the new year – in fact, I was in bed around 10:30 on December 31, so I wasn’t doing much ringing of anything at midnight.

But that doesn’t mean that I’m not excited about 2012. I am so looking forward to this year, and I think it will bring with it many new and fantastic things. I’m not sure what all those might be yet, but whatever they are, I think they will be great.

I am not a big one for making resolutions, but I do have a couple of goals for the year. I usually set a goal to read a particular number of books during the year, but I think I’m going to change it up. Instead, it is my goal to read at least one nonfiction book each month. I usually get caught up in reading fiction and forget about some of the great nonfiction that’s out there, and I think this will be a great way to continue learning — after all, I was a student for so long, I don’t think I can just shut that off.

I also decided to try another Project 365 (actually … 366! It’s leap year!) in 2012. I successfully completed taking a photo every day in 2010, then I took a break in 2011. Now armed with my (still kinda) new camera, I want to get back into taking great shots. And because I always have to one-up myself, I am going to get prints of each 365 shot and put them in a big album so that I have a keepsake of the year. In 2010, I really didn’t do much of anything with the pictures, but I really like having something tangible to show for taking on something so huge. I think a nice thick photo album will do the trick. I also plan to write little notes to slip into different spots in the album, just explaining what’s going on in some of the shots and what I was thinking at that time of the year. I think that will be a fun supplement to the photos themselves. In 2010, I did get all of the photos taken but I didn’t get them all uploaded to Flickr, so I really hope that I keep up with that this year.

I also hope to keep up better with my Etsy shop. Even if I’m not necessarily making new things constantly, I want to keep the shop full so that there is always something to see. It would be great to bring in just a little extra cash — that would let me buy more supplies and keep doing what I love doing in my spare time. I’m hoping to fill up the shop this afternoon.

I’m sure I will come up with a few more goals for the year, but for right now I think the ones I’ve listed are plenty to keep me busy right now!

Do you make resolutions or have goals for 2012? Let me know! I love hearing what other folks have planned. And … does anyone have a good source for 500-photo capacity albums?

3 responses to “Welcome to 2012!

  1. Awesome!!! I look forward to seeing your photos all year!! 🙂 If you find a 500 photo capacity album, please let me know! 😉

  2. Pingback: I love fresh starts. | marleah

Leave a Reply

