I’m cooking for Thanksgiving.

While I was growing up, I never really thought of Thanksgiving as one of my favorite holidays. However, the more I think about it now as an adult, the more I love it. I get to cook and share great food with other people, we get to sit and chat and play games, and we get to think about all of the things that make us happy in life. What is there not to love?

A few years back we started hosting Thanksgiving at our house and making an entirely vegan meal. For those of you who have visions of molded-tofu turkeys, that can stop right now. Our main course is always chili — black beans, butternut squash, tomatoes, corn, rice and all delicious. Sides and desserts vary, but my favorites are stuffing, edamame succotash, and pumpkin pie.

This year, as always, I am thankful for so many things. Thankful that Ryan and I are in a position that allows him to start his own business. Thankful that my family is mostly healthy. Thankful that there are things like cellphones and Facebook and postcards that keep me connected with my sister. Thankful that I have a job that I love and enjoy. Thankful for the pup and the cats that keep me company.

What are you thankful for this year?

Leave a Reply

