Recent reads.


Yes, I’m a librarian, and no, I don’t read at work. However — I do a lot of reading and I always have. To check out all the reading I do, you can find me on Goodreads.

Here’s a quick rundown of some of the books I’ve read lately. Have you read any good ones? I’d love to hear your recommendations!

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness was a fantastic book. It’s considered young adult, but it deals with very adult issues. Conor’s mom is fighting cancer, Conor is fighting bullies, his dad is across the Atlantic in America, and now the Green Man, in the guise of a yew tree, shows up to help him, but perhaps not in the way Conor expects. I absolutely loved this book.

You Are an Ironman by Jacques Steinberg was an interesting book. I may be something of a runner, and I may bike around town on my extremely heavy steel frame, but I’ve never been much of a swimmer and don’t see any triathlons in my future. That being said, it was inspiring to read the challenges faced by wannabe Ironmen (and women) on their way to the big race.

1Q84 by Haruki Murakami is my current read. At over 940 pages, it’s a daunting task, but it has actually been a pretty speedy read. Murakami can describe a scene without driving me crazy with over-the-top prose, which I appreciate. The book focuses on Aomame and Tengo, who met as children and have ever only truly loved each other, even though they haven’t seen each other since fourth grade. Throw in a parallel universe with two moons, a 17-year-old girl who may not be a real girl at all, and the killings of male perpetrators of domestic violence, and you’ll have an idea what Murakami’s novel is about. Yes, it sounds a little crazy, but the story pulled me in and has kept me reading. I have about 100 pages to go.

Others of note:

Running on Empty by Marshall Ulrich – a 57-year-old man runs over 3,000 miles across the United States in 52 days. Inspiring when you don’t want to get out of bed in the morning.

The Awakening by Kate Chopin – a young wife and mother at the turn of the century starts doubting the happiness of her marriage. Early fem-lit that was readable, albeit a little depressing.

That wraps up my November reading so far. What are YOU reading?

Leave a Reply

