I made a blackout poem.

Have you heard of blackout poems? They are made by taking a page of text (from an old book, newspaper, etc.) and blacking out the words – everything but the words that make up your poem. There is a whole book about them called Newspaper Blackout by Austin Kleon.

I felt a little inspired and came up with this:

2011.09.30 - Blackout Poem 1 (1)

For my first one, I’m pretty pleased. I’m going to cut it out and put it on a canvas, I think. I have lots of newspapers that I haven’t been reading lately, and we’re overdue for taking our recycling in, so I have plenty of material to make more. It reminds me of magnetic poetry, and it seems like it would be easy — but it’s actually harder than I expected!

Want to make one? All you need is yesterday’s newspaper and a good Sharpie!

4 responses to “I made a blackout poem.

  1. This is awesome! I was just going through one of my old notebooks and stumbled on some of my attempts at poems. Surprisingly some of them don’t suck! I may have to try this now 🙂

    • Isn’t it nice when you go back and look at old stuff that you didn’t like then, and you find out it’s not half bad? Blackout is a fun way to “write” if you’re just not feeling inspired.

  2. That is such a cool way to write a poem! In theory, I can see how it would seem easy but in practice it would be a bit of a challenge. I love your poem Marleah!

Leave a Reply

