Back to Basics

Pants from Stage // Tee from Vanity // Vest and Shoes from Maurices
“I Read Banned Books” Bracelet from ALA Store

I have a lot of solid color tees that I wear to work with my khakis, and recently I felt the need to dress them up. So I headed to the trusty Mall, and I picked up a couple of these lightweight flowy vests.


I like how it adds a little bit more visual interest, but it doesn’t take away from the colors involved in the outfit already. Plus, they go with all different colors, so I think these will be versatile additions to my closet.

This is one of my favorite accessories to pull out of my jewelry box to dress up my solid colors. I picked this up at the American Library Conference this past June, and it was worth every penny. Naturally, I look for excuses to advertise my love for great books, and this is a fun way to do it.

You’ll be seeing a lot more of this vest and the other that I purchased here soon, I’m sure. What are some of your favorite ways to dress up your basics?

One response to “Back to Basics

  1. Was Ryan making you laugh in the first photo haha. I love the second one with the full view of the vest. It’s cool how the small things really add to an outfit. Awesome bracelet!
    I like to layer with my basics. Plus adding bling bling is always fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

