Oatmeal Blueberry Cookies


Oatmeal Blueberry Cookies
Originally uploaded by marleah

This was another type of cookie that I made last weekend, and it’s one of my new favorites. Yes, I already took a bite out of the cookie before I thought to take a picture of it, so sorry about that. But that just proves how amazing they are! I figure they are perfect for breakfast, since you know, they do have oatmeal and blueberries in them.

Recipe:

  • 1/2 lb (2 sticks) Earth Balance (butter), softened
  • 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar (I ran out of brown sugar, so I used 1/2 cup brown and 1/2 cup regular–plus next step)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar (so with above notes, I used 1/2 cup brown and 1 cup regular)
  • 2 eggs’ worth of Ener-G egg replacer
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 cups oats (old-fashioned, uncooked)
  • 1 cup blueberries (or raisins, or raspberries)
  • Optional: 1/2 cup sunflower seeds (I didn’t add these, but then someone asked if I did, and I thought it sounded really good.)
  1. Heat oven to 350 F. Beat together Earth Balance and sugars until creamy.
  2. Add the prepared Ener-G egg replacer and the vanilla; stir well.
  3. In large mixing bowl, combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Add to egg/vanilla mixture. Mix well.
  4. Stir in oats and blueberries; mix well.
  5. Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls (or I use a 1/4 cup measuring cup to scoop and drop) onto cookie sheet (I sprayed mine with Pam).
  6. Bake 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.
  7. Cool for 1 minute on cookie sheet, then move to wire rack.

The original recipe says it will make 4 dozen, but I make bigger cookies (so I can say I just ate one cookie instead of three, you know), so mine made about 20 cookies. You could probably stretch it to 2 dozen.

ENJOY!

4 responses to “Oatmeal Blueberry Cookies

  1. I don’t know if you’ve ever visited this blog before, but thought I’d tell you about it. They post a lot of vegan recipes (the latest of which looks delicious). Of course, I’ve never tried any of them, but I figured you’re more likely to. 🙂

    http://www.neverhomemaker.com/

  2. Hmm, I had not seen it – but I may need to add it to my heavily-burdened Google Reader! That cheesecake looks delish! Thanks!

  3. Hey there! In response to your comment on my blog :: Wow! I’m glad you like my letters so much! I’m fine with you using my patterns to make things to sell, as long as you attach a link and inform people that the patterns are there for all to see if they want to try themselves. No problem! 🙂

    • Great! I think they would make great gifts, and I will let you know if I end up making them, definitely with a link back to the patterns. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

