T-Shirt Quilt



T-Shirt Quilt
Originally uploaded by marleah

So, it wouldn’t be the holidays without me deciding to take on some huge project that I really probably should have started back in August so that I had time (ha!), but instead I decide to wait until I’m on break from school, which means that I only have about one week to make said huge project.

I’ve had this idea for a long time, ever since my younger sister started outgrowing her horse shirts but refused to get rid of them. What better way to use them than a t-shirt quilt? This was my first time making a quilt in any form, and it turned out to be easier than I expected – of course, it also means that it’s a little wonky and off-centered, but oh well. I had some batting leftover from another project, and it’s backed with a plain brown bedsheet (brown is a horse color, of course). It’s all machine-sewn, but the details are hand-embroidered. I worked on it bit by bit over the course of a week (cutting the pieces, figuring out layout) and then one day spent about 6 hours watching season 5 of “Lost” and embroidering.

It’s a bit small, so not large enough for her whole bed or anything, but just about perfect to take in the car. And since it’s made with well-worn t-shirts, it’s super soft!

More photos from my Flickr:

7 responses to “T-Shirt Quilt

  1. That turned out great! I love the detail of the embroidery. My sister made me a t-shirt quilt and backed it with my favorite flannel sheet from when I was a teenager. Even the flannel sheet was beat up and had a couple of holes, but she mended them right up and it’s the softest blanket. She’s made quite a few since then for various family members, and even sold a couple. They’re just a great way to use up t-shirts that don’t fit or you just don’t wear anymore.

  2. Thanks! That’s a great idea to use a flannel sheet, I bet that would be really soft. I’ll have to remember that if I make another one …

  3. Oooh, very nice! You are so crafty. And now Cameryn will get to treasure her horse t-shirts forever! Maybe she will show it to my mom. πŸ™‚

    • Haha, she probably will! Your mom even sent them a Christmas card specifically that had a horse on it. Cam loves her lessons!

  4. Dude!!! That is the coolest thing ever!!!!! I will definitely have to remember this because I hate getting rid of old clothes just because they don’t fit! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

