Chickpea Curry




Chickpea Curry

Originally uploaded by marleah

This was such an easy meal to whip up, and it’s delicious as leftovers. I got two cans of curry sauce from the health food store (sorry, I am blanking on brand names!), and then added a can of diced tomatoes (drained) and a can of chickpeas (washed and drained). Just in case the things I added took away from the curry flavor, I added a bit more curry powder to the mix. In a separate pan I made some brown rice, and on Ryan’s request did not mix the rice in with the curry – he prefers to layer it on his plate.

Since we can’t find pre-made naan that is vegan, and since I do not have the time to make it myself at the moment, we use pitas instead. It still turns out pretty good!

2 responses to “Chickpea Curry

  1. why can’t vegans just be vegans without all the politics? i find it hard fing veg or vegan recipes without a huge heepin helpin of the politics, or are they the same thing? why must we all believe as you? you don’t give the understanding that you demand of others. just an observation and differing opinion, no need to fang me via email.

    • I haven’t been checking in recently, otherwise I would have replied a lot sooner.

      I think the politics comes out because as vegans, we are confronted with condescending attitudes or questions that are tinged with sarcasm. As a vegan, I find myself having to represent all vegans with the answers that I give to people’s questions. So for me, it all blends together. Also, when I am so passionate about a belief–as I am about veganism and not using animals for food/clothing/etc. purposes–it is hard to sit still and not address it anytime it comes up.

      I think your comment is also very generalized — I don’t think you are really addressing me personally based on the phrasing of your questions; I think you are more addressing the wider group of vegans, for whom I cannot speak. In fact, I am very understanding of non-vegans and am close to many of them. For myself and my husband, we DO give out plenty of understanding, which is at least equitable to that which we receive.

      Thanks for your comment; sorry it took so long for me to get to this, and I’m sorry that you assumed you would be “fanged.”

Leave a Reply

