Long overdue …

I have a love-hate relationship with Walmart. This huge big-box store has really overtaken the country, and in many rural areas it provides really the only access to a wide variety of goods at an affordable price. And the stuff is fun! Cheap!  However, there are several controversies regarding Walmart. I don’t know the ins and outs of these issues, but I do have some personal issues with the store. I know several people who work at the local Walmart, and they aren’t happy there. There are some things that I can only get at Walmart or online, not at the other stores in the area, and when I go to Walmart, those things are not in stock. Many of the staff are not helpful, and some staff members are quite rude and apparently don’t care about customer service. To top it off, that place is always so busy, and it stresses me out just to walk in there.

Because of all of these issues, I have decided that I will boycott Walmart for a month. I’d like to say that I would for the rest of my life, but I don’t know how this will all work out. I am taking it slow, and I’m simply going to go elsewhere for items that I need (or want, because you know how that goes).

Luckily, there are other stores in my area that are not as bad as Walmart. Again, I don’t claim to know all about the issues with Walmart or whether there are the same issues with other stores in my area; I am basing all of this off of personal experience. But when I go to Dillon’s or Walgreens, I do not feel nearly as stressed as I do at Walmart. Also, I can shop online if it’s truly necessary.

This will be an interesting experiment. I may not be able to save much money over the course of the month, since many things are cheaper at Walmart, but I am hoping I can regain some of my sanity. After a month goes by, who knows? I may just decide to keep going.

Leave a Reply

