Better Tofu Stir Fry

Another attempt at a tofu stir fry!

Stir Fry

(linked from Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/marleah/2567631995/)

This time I didn’t marinate the tofu in anything, just prepped it like I usually do (freeze it overnight, thaw it, and press it). Then I breaded it and baked it before I added it to the stir fry, and it was pretty tasty! It was much plainer than the over-salted Bragg’s tofu, but I liked it more. Besides the tofu, I used zucchini, peas, red bell pepper, green bell pepper, carrot, and rice noodles in the stir fry. And I made it in my new electric wok I found for $3 at a garage sale!

Extremely Vague Breading Recipe:

1/4 c. cornmeal
1/4 c. whole wheat flour
a couple dashes of cayenne (maybe 1/4 tsp?)
a couple dashes of salt
a couple dashes of pepper

Be sure your tofu still has some moisture so that it can hold onto the breading!

2 responses to “Better Tofu Stir Fry

  1. Beautiful macro shot. If you’re wanting to try different tofu stir fry recipes, VegWeb has an amazing General Tso’s Tofu recipe.

  2. I think I’ve seen that recipe around the web but haven’t tried it yet – I’ll keep that one in mind!

Leave a Reply

