Diet for a New America

This book has been around for quite a while, and it’s a huge book in the vegetarian arena, as far as I can tell.  I just started it today, so I’m only 50 pages into it right now, but I’m really enjoying it.  I’m getting to the part where the author, John Robbins, describes the conditions in which animals raised for food live, and I think it’s going to be tough to not just skip over that part.

On another note, I took a stand for veganism and myself the other day.  The campus counseling center that I am doing my practicum and internship with puts on an event every year, kind of a stress-relieving event that students can attend.  Traditionally, practicum students have helped hand out pizza – of all kinds.  While I probably could have done it if I were “only” vegetarian, being vegan I just couldn’t see myself doing that for an entire hour.  So, after dwelling on it for a few days, I simply approached my supervisor and let her know that I felt uncomfortable about handing out the pizza.  She knows about my vegetarianism (although I’m not sure she knows about my veganism), and she is a very understanding person, so right away she got it.  I think she felt bad for not thinking of it earlier, but I understand that people can miss things like that when it is not the forefront in their lives.  So I got to help with something else not food-related that night and everyone was happy.  The moral of this story?  If you feel uncomfortable about something, TELL SOMEBODY!  Of course, this moral is here just as much for myself as it is for anyone else.

Something else – I have a ton of food pictures that I need to post, and I just baked something from Colleen‘s cookbook, but I’m behind on posts and I will get those posted as soon as I can.  Patience is a virtue, and all that stuff.

One response to “Diet for a New America

  1. When you think about it, that’s got to be the right anserw.

Leave a Reply

