Chili and Cornbread

Ok, I remembered to get some pictures of the meal I made the other night. They aren’t anything fancy – I’m still working on my photography skills, especially in my kitchen where the lighting is less than perfect.

This is a shot of our chili and cornbread, which I made from scratch. I modified a recipe for “easy cornbread” that I found on the Web somewhere, and it turned out great. Maybe a little too sweet, so I’ll have to play with the amount of sugar next time. Scroll down for the recipes!

Chili & Cornbread

Chili (serves 4)
4 cups tomato soup (I get the non-dairy organic kind from Imagine)
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1 can corn, drained
1 can mild Rotel, drained
a couple teaspoons chopped fresh cilantro (I’m not real big on measuring ingredients)
a couple teaspoons cumin (again … I pour some in my hand, and if it looks like a good amount, I add it)

Um, this recipe is almost too easy to type out. Put a big pot on top of the stove, pour in the tomato soup, add all of your ingredients, and simmer till it’s hot enough. I guess that’s it.

Cornbread (serves about 6, but I guess it depends on how much you want to eat!)
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup cornmeal
1/4 cup sugar (I’m going to try less – maybe none – next time)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoons salt
1 cup soymilk
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 egg (I used Ener-G egg replacer)
1/2 can corn, drained
about 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon chopped fresh cilantro

Heat oven to 400 F. Spray 8″ or 9″ square pan with your choice of non-stick whatever. Combine dry ingredients in mixing bowl. Stir in soymilk, oil, and egg (replacer) in bowl until dry ingredients are moistened. Pour into pan. Bake 20-25 minutes (20 minutes was perfect for me) or until golden brown.

The cornbread was deliciously crumbly, and the cilantro added a nice flavor to it. I will definitely be making this recipe again. It’s great to pair with the chili, because the chili is just so easy that it’s hardly any work, so while the chili is simmering, you can just work on the cornbread.

2 responses to “Chili and Cornbread

  1. Pingback: Vegan Thanksgiving « Marleah

  2. Pingback: I was thankful. | marleah

Leave a Reply

