Spreading the word

When I was eating meat, I wanted to do something more to help the animals, the earth, and myself — so I went vegetarian. After being vegetarian for a while, I decided that it still wasn’t enough, so I went vegan. Now that I am vegan, I still don’t feel like it is enough. So, what more can I do to help?

Well, one thing I came up with is leafleting. I have wanted to do this for a while, and Vegan Outreach provides some excellent leaflets that cover a variety of topics, such as factory farming, the impact of farming on the environment, and ideas for vegetarian food substitutes. My husband actually passed out some of VO’s information in his speech class, when he gave a speech on vegetarianism, and they went over really well. They present information fairly, and while there are some graphic images, it is coupled with inspiring stories and great recipes.

Ryan and I are planning to go to Lawrence, KS, in April, mainly just to get away for the weekend. We discovered that on April 19, Lawrence is having an Earth Day parade and celebration, and I thought that would be a great place to get started leafleting. Because animal farming, especially large-scale farming, is so harmful to the environment, it is a perfect topic for Earth Day. We will be registering as exhibitors soon, and I’m really looking forward to it. Hopefully we have a good response — we are only going to have around 100 booklets to hand out, so I think they will go quickly! If you happen to be in Lawrence that weekend, stop by the park and pick up some information.

Leave a Reply

